MLK Day

When conducting research online to create Martin Luther King Jr. session materials, I noticed that I didn’t really find much of anything music-wise. I was so disappointed! That initial disappointment led to immediate inspiration, motivating me to write a song I am very fond of. 🙂

Oh-so originally titled “Martin Luther King,” this song is… deeper and more introspective than a lot of my other compositions. My strong belief in and connection to the concept of “equality” in every sense made for a very meaningful and passionate songwriting experience.

I have attached lyrics + chords, as well as an audio recording. The quotation, “We’re free at last” is an excerpt from MLK’s famous “I Have a Dream…” speech, and is just such a powerful sentiment. I have my co-author, Lindsey to thank for bringing that to my attention!

I am so happy to be able to share this song with you, and hope it finds a place in your present and future sessions.

–Noa

Leave a comment